seeker_blogtour

Seeker_cover
SEEKER Digital Assets

Title: SEEKER

Author: Arwen Elys Dayton

Pub. Date: February 10, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Pages: 448

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Find it: AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

Their Legacy is…A calling. An Honor. A lie.

#SeekerSeries

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.

As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.

And she’ll be with the boy she loves—who is also her best friend.

But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.

Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.

And now it’s too late to walk away.

 

Seeker Reviews

 

“Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Marie Lu’s Legend, and Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games series: your next obsession has arrived.” —School Library Journal

“[A] powerful beginning to a complex family saga . . . Dayton excels at creating memorable characters.” —Publishers Weekly

“A tightly woven, action-packed story of survival and adventure, Seeker is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.” —Tahereh Mafi, author of the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series

“Secrets, danger, and romance meet in this unforgettable epic fantasy.” —Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

interview_trans

  1. Quickly, give us the title and genre of your book and a 30-word-or-less tagline:

Seeker

Epic fantasy, near-future fiction

A heroic family tale gone terribly wrong. For Quin Kincaid, being a Seeker is not what she thought. Nothing is what she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.

  1. Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?

Anyone who likes to read YA-but especially teens! This book combines elements of fantasy and near-future fiction, but Seeker is for anyone who likes a grand adventure.

  1. How did you come up with the title of your book or series?

 

Picking Seeker as a title was relatively easy. Becoming a Seeker is the main focus of the first part of the book, and discovering what Seekers actually are is the main focus of the rest. So Seeker seemed spot-on, and the word is also very fitting for the characters’ actions throughout the story. Everyone is seeking something specific—big goals, like revenge and transformation, but also smaller goals, like anonymity and escape.

 

  1. Tell us a little bit about your cover art. Who designed it? Why did you go with that particular image/artwork?

 

The jacket art was by Bose Collins and the jacket design by Alison Impey. We all felt this design did an amazing job of capturing the location and feel of Seeker. The dagger on the cover represents the athame in the book, a tool near and dear to Seekers. The rams are the symbol of Quin’s family, but they also look a bit like constellations of stars, a nod to the peculiar attributes of the athame. Beneath this is a Scottish landscape, green but barren.

The German book cover for Seeker (the only foreign cover I’ve yet seen!) features Hong Kong instead of Scotland. We could have gone that direction for the American version, but Scotland felt more like the home base of the story. It’s where the book starts, and it’s where Quin and Shinobu have lived their whole lives.

I absolutely love the US cover!

 

  1. Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

 

My loyalties are split between Quin and the Young Dread!

 

Quin is fifteen years old and has spent most of her life on an isolated estate in Scotland. She’s smart and optimistic and loyal, and she’s willing to fight hard for what she believes in. Quin is a bit of an idealist, and she would have more of a sense of humor if the last few years hadn’t been so physically demanding.

The Young Dread shares many of Quin’s character traits, but she’s a different creature altogether. No one seems to know for sure, but she is perhaps fourteen years old. Silent, deliberate, even terrifying, the Young Dread is not someone you want to tangle with lightly. And yet she can be trusted to choose what is right—most of the time.

These two girls are alike in some ways and very different in others. I care for each of them a great deal, so it’s hard to choose a true favorite.

  1. How about your least favorite character? What makes him or her less appealing to you?

Hmm, my least favorite character is probably Quin’s father, Briac. It’s difficult to feel any sympathy for him, especially when he’s hurting his own family. But . . . since I’m now writing book two in the series, I admit I’ve found some compassion for Briac later in the story.

  1. If you could change ONE thing about your novel, what would it be? Why?

I would have liked one more moment between Shinobu and John where they each see the other for who he is and acknowledge the truth between them. Maybe that needs to happen somewhere, even if it’s not in book one. So thanks for asking me this. *Muttering to self* Now must add this to my list for book two . . .

  1. What’s the next project for you?

Book 2 of the Seeker series. It’s called Traveler, and it dives right in where Seeker left off. It’s hard to judge anything about your own writing, especially when you’re in the middle of it, but I am enjoying spending more time with these characters and following them around the world.

9.What are you reading right now?

 

The Young Elites by Marie Lu.

  1. Any advice for aspiring authors?

Be interested in everything. Read all sorts of different books, and in your life, meet and take an interest in all sorts of different people. Try not to use TV or YouTube videos as your main inspiration. Look to the world around you, find stories in real life (even little stories), and eventually the big, original stories will start to take shape in your mind. Creating stories is a wonderful thing, and I wish you much luck!

 ****

Seek Legacy Banner

“What Adventure do you seek”


___________

About Arwen:
Arwen

Arwen Elys Dayton spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid (which she explored by a single fading flashlight when researching Resurrection), Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. She enjoys creating complete worlds inhabited by characters who charm, frustrate or inspire.

Arwen lives with her husband and their three children on the West Coast of the United States. You can follow her @arwenelysdayton on Twitter and Instagram.

Website/Twitter/Facebook/Goodreads/Instagram

 

 

Giveaway Details: 5 Winners.

5 winners will receive finished copies of SEEKER, US only.

Rafflecopter Code:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rafflecopter Link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZTIzODliYTI4ZTEzMGVjODBhNzA2MmFmMTU3YWM3OjI2OA==/?

Tour Schedule:

2/9/2015- Spiced Latte Reads– Review

2/9/2015- Supernatural Snark- Interview

2/9/2015- The Cover Contessa- Guest Post

2/10/2015- Once Upon A Twilight- Review

2/10/2015- Reading YA Rocks- Guest Post

2/10/2015- The Eater of Books!- Interview

2/11/2015- WinterHaven Books – Review

2/11/2015- Paranormal Book Club- Interview

2/11/2015- Literary Meanderings- Guest Post

2/12/2015- A Dream Within A Dream- Review

2/12/2015- I’d So Rather Be Reading- Guest Post

2/12/2015- Bookhounds ya- Interview

2/13/2015- Bookish- Review

2/13/2015- Bewitched Bookworms– Interview

2/13/2015- Nerdophiles- Guest Post

Seeker Graphics (Please don’t post this. This is for you to know which graphic to use!)

2/9: SEEK ADVENTURE (blogs should use this along with #seekerseries to discuss what adventure they seek, etc)

2/9/2015- Spiced Latte Reads- Review

2/9/2015- Supernatural Snark- Interview

2/9/2015- The Cover Contessa- Guest Post

2/10: SEEK TRUTH (blogs should use this image along with, #seekerseries, to discuss what truth they seek)

2/10/2015- Once Upon A Twilight- Review

2/10/2015- Reading YA Rocks- Guest Post

2/10/2015- The Eater of Books!- Interview

2/11: SEEK LEGACY (blogs should use this image and #seekerseries,to discuss legacy and what they seek)

2/11/2015- WinterHaven Books – Review

2/11/2015- Paranormal Book Club- Interview

2/11/2015- Literary Meanderings- Guest Post

2/12: SEEK REDEMPTION (blogs should use this image and #seekerseries, to discuss redemption and what they seek)

2/12/2015- A Dream Within A Dream- Review

2/12/2015- I’d So Rather Be Reading- Guest Post

2/12/2015- Bookhounds ya- Interview

2/13/2015- Bookish- Review

2/13/2015- Bewitched Bookworms- Interview

2/13/2015- Nerdophiles- Guest Post